DSLR Workshop

Several weeks ago, I received an email from Living Social with a deal from DSLR Workshops by Okello Dunkley.  I was interested because I had seen his workshops advertised on Facebook and had been intrigued.  I reviewed the deal, saw I knew exactly where the hotel the classes were offered at (which for someone who tends to get lost, this was a major bonus!), and decided to go for it.

This past Sunday I headed to Philly to take advantage of my Living Social deal.  I signed up for his Take Your Camera Off Program Mode! Part I because I wanted to check out some features to the camera that was bugging me and wanted to make sure I was using it to the best of my ability.  I was a little nervous about it because I hoped it was worth both the four hour both ways car ride and the cost.

I will say, I really do think it was worth it.  Okello was very personable and holy moly did he know his stuff!  There were so many different camera brand owners and yet he knew exactly every brand and where to find all the controls on each one.  He had multiple cameras with him, so he could show both while teaching.  He answered questions as they came up and he cut some off before they were even asked.  I was also impressed with his memory!  To start the class off he had each participant give their name, camera, what they like to photograph, and what they wanted to get out of the class.  Throughout the class, he remembered people’s names and their cameras when questions came up (there were approximately 50 people).  I struggle with names until I get to know a person, so I was really impressed with his ability to remember who was there and what they were using.

After taking this class, I believe taking part 2 will go on my agenda.  I believe Okello has great teaching ability, loves what he does, and it shows in his class.  If you’re interested in learning more about your camera, taking a class is a great way to do it.  Reading books (including the manual) is wonderful, but there’s just something about a live person who can answer questions right then and there.  Check out Okello and his DSLR Workshops for yourself.

Leave a Reply

