2011 Self-Portrait Project: March

With Lilo and Stitch at the Disney's Princess 1/2 Marathon (cell phone photo)

Ok, ok.  Please excuse the fact this image isn’t exactly a self-portrait (or taken on March 1st).  I spent the last three months training for the Disney Princess 1/2 Marathon in Orlando, Florida, my very first half marathon.  Hubby and I headed off to Florida on Friday and had a slight issue with our flight (initially canceled, then a HUGE delay on our rescheduled flight).  We arrived, hit the expo on Saturday, and went to bed ear-ly. The race was really early (and for good reason!) and while I’m not a fast runner, my goal was to run the whole thing, no walking.  And I did.  I ran the whole race and finished in 3:21:11.  Slow as molasses, but whatever.  I did it.  All 13.1 miles.  If you are interested in a race recap, click here.

And why am I sharing this photo of Lilo and Stitch?  Because I love Stitch.  Of the new Disney movies, he is my favorite!  Though, I suppose he’s not all that new anymore… But, when I saw the two of them on the side of the road, I just HAD to get my photo taken.  It was so fun and I was so happy.  🙂  And then, I impressed myself by texting the photo to a bunch of friends who knew I was running and know of my love of Stitch while running.

Anyone else have a photo of themselves with a Disney character?  Or did you do the Disney Princess 1/2 Marathon too?  If so, I’d love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

