2011 Self-Portrait Project: January/February

The Mid-Atlantic/Northeast has been nailed this winter with snow. Which makes training for a half marathon a tad difficult. I mean look! I have NO feet. 😉

There is a fabulous, fun photographer than I have been lucky enough to find on the web and exchange some fun emails with.  Her name is Gail Werner and can be found here.  She began a fun project in 2010 where she took a self-portrait at the beginning of each month and then described what was going on.  I loved the chance to get to know her a bit better through what she chose to share in her self-portrait.

I decided in 2011 to try the same.  It seemed fun and a great way to share with you some personal things about myself.  This past January I have been training for the Disney Princess Half Marathon in Orlando, FL.  The race on February 27th (just a mere 26 days away…eep!) and I have been working my butt off training.  It’s been a challenge.  First, because the longest distance I have ever run was 7 miles at the Baltimore Marathon Relay back in October.  Going from 7 to 13.1 miles is a big jump (no matter what my running friends say!).  I wasn’t sure I could do it.  I wasn’t sure I was cut out to run 13.1 miles all at the same time.  But, I have been running and the day this photo was taken, I went out into the streets of my little town and ran 10 miles.  That’s a lot.  At least to me!

The second reason training for a half marathon has been challenging is that we are in a pattern of a snow/ice/sleet storm every Tuesday into Wednesday for the past month to six weeks.  I’m not sure what’s going on, but yea.  Every time we turn around, the weather forecast involves some form of precipitation.  Some runs have been aborted due to snow and some have been aborted because the snow is over, but people haven’t cleaned off their side walks.  So, it’s been a bit of an adventure trying to get runs in with snow and/or ice on the ground.

And for those keeping track at home, the Northeast is going to be hit with another snow/ice storm on Tuesday, February 1st.  LOL!  I suppose you can’t get away from Mother Nature!

Leave a Reply

