Christmas Challenge: Day 9

I love Christmas tree ornaments.  I have so many that in my house, there are two trees and more ornaments that can fit on them!  I have ornaments from when I was a child, when my husband was a child,  ornaments I bought over the years because I thought they were pretty (and on sale!), and ornaments we have bought together.

After we married in 2001, we decided to purchase a tree ornament when we went on vacations.  I will admit, we haven’t always remembered to do so, but we really do try to find something when we’re away.  It’s so much fun when taking the ornaments out of the box each year to remember our vacations and what we did.  We always reminisce a little about each location and how fun it was.  And honestly, we have never gone on a vacation that we did not have a TON of fun on.  Her are just a few of our vacation ornaments.

Sandals All-Inclusive Resort

On December 29, 2001, by hubby and I married in a small church is South Jersey.  Since winter in the Mid-Atlantic can get a tad chilly, we decided to honeymoon in a warm tropical paradise…Jamaica!  We settled on Sandals Dunn’s River all-inclusive resort and loved it!  It was fantastic lying on the beach while our friends were freezing their tails off!  LOL!  Then in 2006, for our 5 year anniversary, we returned.  We had a vow-renewal on the beach and again, just enjoyed relaxing on the beach while it was so cold at home.  We celebrate our 10 year anniversary in 2011 and are already planning on returning to Jamaica.  Sadly, Sandals Dunn’s River closed on June 30, 2010, so we are seeking a new resort, but are looking forward to another tropical anniversary get away!

Natural Bridge, VA

A few years ago, we took a long weekend and visited Natural Bridge, VA.  We had a fabulous time!  It felt like a vacation from the 1960s, but oh so fun!  We hiked, we went through a dinosaur park, a wax museum, and a zoo.  The absolute best part of the trip, in my opinion, was the ability to feed a baby tiger.  Yes, a real live baby tiger.  It cost us, but it was 100% worth it!  Their were three little tigers in the room and when you enter, the photographers chose the one who seems calmest to put on your lap to feed.  Well, one of the other little guys got all playful and bit my ankle!  So, I have officially been bitten by a tiger.  Not many people can say that!

Paris, France

If you’ve been reading along for a little while, you know hubby and I went to Europe this year.  We hit up Italy (Rome, Florence, and Venice) for a week, then 4 days in Paris and a day in Versailles, followed by 4 days in London.  We found a cute little souvenir shop near Notre Dome and picked up this ornament for the tree.  We loved that we had visited all three places depicted on the ornament and that it of course said Paris on it.   It made us a little sad seeing this one, as we’re still having a hard time believing the trip is over, but it sure brought a smile to our face when we saw it!

London, England

London is my all-time, hands-down favorite city.  If I could I would move there, but I have no desire for my three adorable kitties to go through a 6 month quarentine.  So, I visit.  London was our last stop of our whirl-wind European holiday and it didn’t disappoint.  We hit up all the typical tourist stuff (Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London, London Bridge) and I finally got to go on the London Eye!  I was so happy to see my cute little London ornament when we got the boxes out.  How can you not love the crown?

So, do you have ornaments from vacations you put on your tree?  If not, why not start the tradition this year?  It’s never too late!

Leave a Reply

