Happy Thanksgiving!

Today, here in the United States, is one of our few secular holidays that all our citizens enjoy – Thanksgiving.  Today, we give thanks for all we have and celebrate with family and friends.  It’s a fantastic holiday, which traces its roots back to the Pilgrims who crossed the Atlantic on the Mayflower.  In 1621, the governor of Plymouth, Massachusetts William Bradford decided to have a feast to celebrate a successful corn harvest.  He invited the local Wampanog Indians for a  three day celebration that today is considered the first Thanksgiving.

Over the years, many other colonies and states adopted a day of thanksgiving and in 1789, George Washington proclaimed the first Thanksgiving by the national government.  But, it wasn’t until 1863 and President Abraham Lincoln that Thanksgiving became an official national holiday.  He declared it to be celebrated on the fourth Thursday of November and continued that way until 1939.  It was in that year that Theodore D. Roosevelt moved up Thanksgiving one week to try to assist the economy during the Great Depression, giving people more time to do their holiday shopping.  There was such a backlash over this though, that in 1941 he moved it back to the fourth Thursday in November, when we celebrate it today.

So on this day of Thanksgiving, I would like to share what I’m thankful for.

I am thankful for my loving husband who in December will have put up for me for 9 years (plus the 6 before!).

And that we love to travel and celebrate anniversaries.

I am thankful for family - my mom and I celebrating her retirement.

I am thankful for my fantastic grandparents who love me and make it known. My grandfather is no longer with us, but he was an amazing man married to a fabulous woman.

I am thankful for fantastic friends I've known forever. My first college roommate Nicole and I.

College roommates are wonderful - Marge and I roomed together too and she helped celebrate my birthday this past October.

I am thankful for an awesome group of people who make me laugh constantly...and whom I don't see often enough anymore. But no matter where they are, they are fantastic people.

I am thankful for friends I've made since college - on the internet! Angela and I have known each other since 2000 and I am happy to consider her a friend.

I am thankful for great couple friends, like Kim and Nigel. Kim is one of my best friends and her hubby is just fabulous.

I am thankful for friends who I meet through other friends. I met Christina through Kim and I am so thankful.

I am thankful for friends who come to visit, like Crystal! She braved 40" of snow in the northeast to come spend the weekend with me.

I am thankful for new friends. These guys made a once-in-a-lifetime trip more memorable than I could have ever imagined. THANK YOU!

I may have missed some people and for that, I apologize.  Thank you to all my friends and family who have been caring and loving and supporting this year and every year.  I am truly blessed.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

