The Holidays – Perfect Photo Opps

With Thanksgiving being Thursday, I wanted to share that it’s the perfect opportunity to use that camera of yours.  Memories are not always scripted, such as planning a photo session with a professional photographer.  Some of the best memories are at the holidays when everyone is gathered together, having fun, and just enjoying each other’s company.

My grandparents celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary in December 2004, so I had the camera and took photos of them, as well as other family members at the party.  It was important to me to make sure I had those photos of my grandparents.  60 years of marriage is a long time and so impressive these days.  Sadly, in 2007, my grandfather passed away and I am so thankful that I took the camera along that day.  The photos I have of that day are so special.

My Grandparents at their 60th wedding anniversary party. Aren't they adorable?

I come from a large extended family.  I’m an only child, but my mom is one of eight children.  This means I have a lot of aunts, uncles, cousins, etc.  As I get older (and they get older) it’s fun to take holiday pictures that include my cousins and such because honestly getting us all in one place is harder and harder as the years go by.  I have a 12 year old first-cousin as well as two that are over 40.  Yup.  Large age span.  So, when I am at with my family for the holidays, I’m now bringing my camera and taking photos because there are times when it has been years since I’ve seen certain family members, and honestly, we live 2 hours away from each other.

My younger cousin John playing pool at Christmas a few years ago. Honestly, it's been two years since I've seen John, though I believe I will see him this Thanksgiving. Yea!

My even younger cousin Jenna juggling at Christmas last year. She's very good at it. Seriosuly. Maybe she'll join the circus one day. That would be cool.

Take advantage of the celebrations you attend this season.  Take those photographs.   Ignore the people who tell you not to take their picture.  Take them anyway!   Having these images to remind you of your family is important.  And keep in mind, the photos you take today can mean everything tomorrow.

2 comments on “The Holidays – Perfect Photo Opps

  1. bet365 says:

    how are you I was fortunate to search your Topics in digg
    your topic is outstanding
    I obtain much in your website really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you site is really splendid
    where can find it

  2. Mo says:

    I agree family pictures are priceless

Leave a Reply

