Holiday Cards and Gifts

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, the holiday season is shortly approaching.  As much as it seems crazy, Thanksgiving is next week and Christmas is ONE MONTH from Thanksgiving.  Wow.  The year truly did fly by.

Have you had your photo taken for your holiday cards this year?  Why do I ask?  I ask because it’s coming to that time of year to get our holiday plans in gear.  This is the perfect year to share those photos on a holiday card to send to friends and family.  Whether you got engaged, got married, bought a house, announced a pregnancy, had a baby, brought home a  new pet, or any number of new and fun changes to your life, the holiday card is the best way to show them off.  I know you may be thinking it seems every egocentric, and I’ll be honest, I thought that too.  But, this year, I’m going to do the photo holiday card.  I’ve never done one before, but after having a once in a lifetime (which I hope ISN’T) trip, I want to share that with people.  And I have so many friends who live far away, the holiday photo card is a great way of sharing important memories to you with them.

I had been looking at Shutterfly as my card of choice producer because they have some great cards.  I’m having a hard time deciding which one I want to go with though.  I’m not sure how many photos to include on the card.  Obviously, there will be one of hubby and I.  🙂  But, do we do one of each of our little furballs, a group shot, the brothers together and Lizzie alone?  Decisions…decisions… And since there are some great card choices, I’m having a hard time deciding.

I love this one.  Which means three photos

I am loving this concept in the stores.  How cute is this?

This is a total departure from a traditional card, but I like it.

So many decisions!  And don’t think these are the only ones.  Check out Shutterfly’s Christmas cards for yourself!  Not only do they have the flat cards like above, they also have fold over cards, the more traditional kind.

But what else can you do with those great photographs you have from this  year?  My absolute favorite thing right now is a canvas.  I totally recommend doing one for your home.  I’ve done one and adore it.  I want to do more and honestly, we are doing one as a holiday gift ourselves this year.  Now, here’s my tip to you about canvases.  Don’t buy the smallest one because it’s the cheapest one.  Make sure you buy one to fit the space you wish to fill.  The larger the canvas, the bigger then impact it makes.  99.9% of the time, you will not regret purchasing the larger size canvas.  What photographers hear more is regretting purchasing the smaller size, as it looks so tiny in the space.  Check out Shutterfly’s canvases.  They are easy to do and make a wonderful gift for you or a family member (Grandparents perhaps?).

Have a family reunion this year?  A major milestone birthday or anniversary?  What better way to relive those memories than with a photo calendar?  This makes a fantastic gift all around for brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, grandparents, far-off relatives who maybe couldn’t make it.  What better way to remember that milestone anniversary than a photo a month?  The family reunion over the summer?  How about remembering all the fun each month by seeing family members you see rarely?  So much more personal than buying one from the calendar store in the mall, the photo calendar makes a great remembrance gift for friends and family alike!  Shutterfly can help make that photo calendar for you as well.  And what’s great about it is you can add birthdays, anniversaries, and photos right on it!

These are just a few ideas of what you can do with your photos this holiday season.  What better way to give a personalized gift than through photographs?  If you are still in need of some great family photos for this year’s holiday card or gift, let me know.  I’d love to help you cross one more item off your to-do list.

And in the spirit of honesty, Shutterfly is generously providing me with 50 free holiday cards for sharing the above with you.  If you blog, they want you to know that Bloggers get 50 free holiday cards from Shutterfly… learn more: http://bit.ly/sfly2010

One comment on “Holiday Cards and Gifts

  1. […] last month when I spoke about getting your holiday photo for your holiday photo cards?  Well, I received the cards I ordered on Friday, which I was trilled with for several reasons.  […]

Leave a Reply

