Washington D.C. and the World War II Memorial

This past Saturday I had the chance to visit Washington, D.C. and do my darndest to be a history tour guide to my lovely friend and two of her friends from Wisconsin.  It was a first trip for all three, so no pressure on giving them good information as we site seed in D.C.  If you haven’t been to Washington, D.C., please go.  You could be there for months and not see everything.  With that in mind, I suggested we head to the National Mall, where some of the most iconic memorials in D.C. are located.

We met at the Washington Monument and quickly headed to the World War II memorial.   I saw this memorial for the first time several years ago and while I know there was controversy in it’s construction and location, but I was impressed the first time I saw it.  It seemed larger than life and a fitting tribute to those men and women who sacrificed so much all for the idea of freedom.  I really wanted to make sure my friends saw this because it is amazing.

Some photographs of the WWII memorial in Washington, D.C.  This week, I’ll be sharing other photos of our trip to D.C.  and doing my best to explain why and what they are.

On either side of the memorial are two large pillars enscribed with "Atlantic" and "Pacific." These pillars reflect the two theaters of operation fought in during WWII.

The inside of the Atlantic pillar from the ground.

Engraved in the marble at the base of the Atlantic pillar. There are multiple quotes from influential individuals about WWII engraved around the momument. On the other side of the Atlantic pillar is the first line from President Roosevelt's speech from December 7, 1941.

The Pacific pillar flanked by smaller pillars. Each of the smaller pillars represent each state in the Union and territories of the US during WWII.

The Lincoln Memorial from the WWII Memorial. Looking in the opposite direction you can see the Washington Memorial.

To me, the most powerful part of the memorial. Each star you see represents 100 Americans killed in WWII; there are 4,048 stars total. In front of the concave wall of stars it states, "Here we mark the price of freedom."

What made our visit to the memorial even more memorable was a large group of WWII veterans who were visiting the memorial while we were there.  Ironically, they were from Wisconsin.  It was amazing to see them all there – in wheel chairs, with canes, walking unassisted.  They were taking photographs of the memorial and photographs of themselves at the memorial.  To those who complained that this memorial was rushed through too quickly, you must not understand the enormous debt of gratitude we owe these men and women.  To them, I say thank you and I am proud to know that this memorial was built so that members of the Greatest Generation are able to see it.

6 comments on “Washington D.C. and the World War II Memorial

  1. here says:

    A cool post there mate . Cheers for the post !

  2. wheelchairs says:

    Perfectly made! Concise and clean…so good. I appreciate that you had included in your content about the people in wheelchairs or in walking canes…Great! Thanks for sharing it with us.

  3. ip camera says:

    I’m grateful for you because of this excellent content material. You genuinely did make my day :

  4. 網路行銷 says:

    Fabulous posting bro. This important is just a tremendously nicely structured post, just the critical info I was looking just for. I praise you

  5. 創業 says:

    Wonderful article post on the blog bro. This particular is just a tremendously nicely structured blog post, just the data I was looking just for. Thank you

Leave a Reply

